Belly Up Live Logo

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

Recorded Apr. 15, 2010



Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros is an American folk rock band formed in Los Angeles, California, in 2007. The group is led by singer Alex Ebert. The band’s name is based on a story Ebert wrote in his youth, about a messianic figure named Edward Sharpe. Drawing from roots rock, folk, gospel, and psychedelic music, the band’s image and sound evoke the hippie movement of the 1960s and 1970s. The group’s first show was played July 18, 2007, at The Troubadour in West Hollywood, California. Their first studio album, Up from Below, was released on July 7, 2009, on Community Records and featured the popular single “Home”. The group released their second full-length album, Here, on May 29, 2012, and third album, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, on July 23, 2013. Their fourth studio album, PersonA, was released in April 2016.

Since its founding, the band has undergone several alterations. Most notably, singer Jade Castrinos left the band in 2014 despite remours she has been booted out.The band’s current members are Mark Noseworthy, Orpheo McCord, Josh Collazo, Christian Letts, Nico Aglietti, Seth Ford-Young, Mitchell Yoshida, Crash Richard, Stewart Cole, and Alex Ebert. The band also operates Big Sun, a non-profit focused on funding and developing co-ops and land trusts in urban areas around the world. Their first large-scale project, “Avalon Village,” is in Highland Park (within Detroit), Michigan.

Show More

Show Less




Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros are a psych-folk music collective led by singer Alex Ebert. Drawing from roots rock, folk, gospel, and psychedelic music, the band’s aesthetic is reminiscent of the 1960’s hippie movement. Inspired primarily by the simple, rag-tag, jangly sing-a-longs, Alex Ebert wrote songs designed for a large group to have a playful, care-free, and irreverent feel. On the live stage, their music is a captivating communal celebration with NPR describing it as “intoxicatingly celebratory, as 10 or more musicians combine to create a joyously uplifting mass.” Their 2010 performance was in support of their first studio album, Up From Below, which features the platinum-selling song “Home” and heartfelt tunes “40 Day Dream,” “Janglin” and more.

Run Time: Approx. 69 Minutes
File Size: Approx. 143MB

... more



Album Downloads   |    Artist List   |    Privacy Policy   |    VIP Email Sign Up   |    About    |    Download Instructions    |    Contact

Copyright © Belly Up Site Terms of Service